Hellboy movie trailer! And it's got actual content-- it's not just a teaser. Yay!
It looks pretty reasonable. Abe even looks decent-- I was worrying about him, mostly. He doesn't have the Mignola-style very-flat stare, giving him the impression of being slightly more cheerful than in the comics, but that's survivable.
And I don't think I have ever said, "Whoo hoo! Nazis!" as happily as I did when they appeared in the trailer. Yay!
I have seen trailers that have made me blanch with anticipation of horrors perpetrated upon my favorite stories (League of Extraordinary Gentlemen, for example), but this one-- aside from not being able to totally emulate Mignola's stylized art (Hellboy doesn't have a HUGE CHEST and little tiny feet!)-- doesn't.
It looks pretty reasonable. Abe even looks decent-- I was worrying about him, mostly. He doesn't have the Mignola-style very-flat stare, giving him the impression of being slightly more cheerful than in the comics, but that's survivable.
And I don't think I have ever said, "Whoo hoo! Nazis!" as happily as I did when they appeared in the trailer. Yay!
I have seen trailers that have made me blanch with anticipation of horrors perpetrated upon my favorite stories (League of Extraordinary Gentlemen, for example), but this one-- aside from not being able to totally emulate Mignola's stylized art (Hellboy doesn't have a HUGE CHEST and little tiny feet!)-- doesn't.
OM-F'ing-G
Date: 2003-11-26 06:52 am (UTC)Re: OM-F'ing-G
Date: 2003-11-26 07:23 am (UTC)Okay, so if you decide to come to dinner on Friday, please change your pants first. 8)
(no subject)
Date: 2003-11-26 09:17 am (UTC)I'm not entirely sanguine about Perlman as HB - the makeup's nice, but his face just doesn't quite look right to me (and yes, I know, no actual person can ever have that steamshovel jaw, that's not what I'm talking about). And say what you will about Vin Diesel (I happen to be a fan, but), his voice would have been a lot more like I've always pictured HB's than Perlman's is.
Still, it looks pretty damn cool. But don't go by me. I liked The League of Extraordinary Gentleman.
(no subject)
Date: 2003-11-26 02:02 pm (UTC)it's really cute when i hear more mature ppl [trying to be PC here] use the exclaimation "yay!"...
it's cute!
^^v
*YAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY*
(no subject)
Date: 2003-11-27 05:19 pm (UTC)Hee hee. 8)
I actually said it out loud, too.