"The Next Iron Chef" is, like, a bunch of losers who possess neither the cooking skills nor the personalities to be on Top Chef, and who have a serious misunderstanding of ethnic cuisine, except that somebody let them be on TV. I get the feeling that even though this food is filmed as if it were a program on Spike with food likely to jump cars over other cars and/or explode, it's just not well-made, and the contestants are intensely clueless and unpleasant. Top Chef dudes may not be all huggy or anything, but I've seen them help one another when they need it, often regardless of whether they like the other contestant or what. The idea seems to be that on Top Chef they'd rather compete against the actual food, not the person's ability to plate really quickly, while on The Next Iron Chef the contestants cheerfully leave things filthy in order to screw up their opponents. Classy.
And seriously, Indian dinner == paneer gnocci? What? Kind of an interesting idea, I guess.
And seriously, Indian dinner == paneer gnocci? What? Kind of an interesting idea, I guess.