It was warm out, although thankfully not as warm at the park as it was other places.
Food was good, nice mix of folks, very mellow. Some of us when Chasm stomping, most people sat around chatting and enjoying what the ice cream truck had to offer. :-)
Sushi was yummy. although once again the sushi folks got the shaft because they were served one at a time, so half the table was done while the other half wasn't served yet. The teppanyaki folks got lucky, we had our chef out within 1/2 hour of sitting. And, we got to view the "Stepford Wives in the making" having a birthday part at the other side of our table!
Post-sushi hangout at Zoners was teh awesome. Although I think Zoner very much overestimated how hungry folks would be after Purgatory + sushi. :-) He was an excellent host. The last of us bailed at around midnight.
It was good - a bit smaller than some of the really big years, but whether that was positive or negative was, I think, a matter of taste, and it was (as usual) a very fun time. It may have been a bit lower-key than some other years, or perhaps not.
You were missed - it seemed odd not having you there. I was sorry not to have the usual chance to catch up with you.
Right at the beginning, a park ranger came over and earnestly introduced himself, saying that we could talk to him if we had any questions about the Chasm or wanted someone to show us around. This was kind of amusing.
As usual, the sheer quantity of food available over the course of the day was slightly boggling (and slightly dangerous ;). Many of the unopened/uneaten snacks made its way to zonereyrie's place for the post-dinner gathering, where it combined with the munchies he'd specifically gotten to make a fearsome array of foodstuffs. There was also a moderately prodigious amount of booze, there. I don't know how much of it was consumed; keshwyn and I had to take off after an hour or so.
It was kinda hot and muggy during the afternoon, but not in the "ahghad gonna melt" range, especially with the shade of the trees. It thundered in the distance for the last hour or two of the afternoon, then broke into some much-needed rain by evening.
Friday night, zonereyrie and I went to Austin to stock up on boozahol. we ended up getting some mixers, a few assorted bottles of bar basics (rum, gin, etc.) , 2 12-pk samplers (Saranac, Sam Adams). some cider, some Guinness. a 6 of Hoegaarden. ummm.. and probably a few other things. as we were walking out, it struck us that perhaps we over did it. didn't find any of that Japanese whiskey, however. We then went to the Stop-n-Drop for 'chips, dips, chains, whips' . again, over doing it, especially since Zoner hadn't had supper yet. We fit all the beers into the fridge, but there's not much room for anything else.
At both places, as we were checking out, the clerk asked "So, where's the party?" and we explained that it was a traditional gathering at the end of summer we had with our friends from college and such. 15 years and running. thinking of it like that, I thought "yah.. we got a very cool thing going here..."
broken_gizmo and Vger showed up at my place at 1:45am, and we stayed up talking 'til 3.
delenn1122 and her mom did end up making Samosas. two foil pans full, and they were gone within minutes of our arrival.
my cousin enigmaticfox and her husband came along.. actually arriving earlier than I did. she'd met lizzielizzie a couple weekends before, and found everyone else approachable, so by the time we arrived, they were chatting away with folks, even without me having to make introductions. they felt they fit right in. :) my sister and her family came along again, and had a wonderful time.
Sakura Tokyo went pretty well. one grill's worth of Teppanyaki, and 2 grills worth of sushi-eaters. they didn't give us grief over having a mismatch. one half of the sushi got their orders pretty quickly.. they had an experienced waitress who might've fast-tracked their orders.. my half of the sushi folks got a newer waitress, who first thought we wanted Teppanyaki, and then was slow getting us a la carte sheets to order. by the time the grill table had finished cooking, and the other table was finishing up eating.. we were still waiting for food. and Fugakyu has spoiled us for sushis, but Sakura is closer to the park, and has the space for Big Parties. (altho.. with enough notice, I'm sure we could reserve Fugakyu's whole back room....)
hanging out after dinner was fun, as usual. chatting and drinking. we had a lot of beers to get through aaaaaand... didn't even make a dent. we'll be well supplied for ninja-night for a while :)
I missed you all - again. If the east -> west migration continues, we'll have to start having Live Aid-like multi-location events. Won't *that* be fun?! I'm sure solipsistnation can find some big fissures up his way.
Kate probably didn't even realize it was a Purgatory weekend. She has typical teen stuff going on. I'll mention it to her when I see her between her playing and my playing (as they're no longer, of course, the same.) :(
I'm glad y'all had fun, and may your samosa burps make you think fondly of those who weren't there. :)
(no subject)
Date: 2007-09-09 02:44 pm (UTC)Food was good, nice mix of folks, very mellow. Some of us when Chasm stomping, most people sat around chatting and enjoying what the ice cream truck had to offer. :-)
Sushi was yummy. although once again the sushi folks got the shaft because they were served one at a time, so half the table was done while the other half wasn't served yet. The teppanyaki folks got lucky, we had our chef out within 1/2 hour of sitting. And, we got to view the "Stepford Wives in the making" having a birthday part at the other side of our table!
Post-sushi hangout at Zoners was teh awesome. Although I think Zoner very much overestimated how hungry folks would be after Purgatory + sushi. :-) He was an excellent host. The last of us bailed at around midnight.
Pictures should be up in a day or three.
We missed you too!!
(no subject)
Date: 2007-09-09 02:50 pm (UTC)You were missed - it seemed odd not having you there. I was sorry not to have the usual chance to catch up with you.
Right at the beginning, a park ranger came over and earnestly introduced himself, saying that we could talk to him if we had any questions about the Chasm or wanted someone to show us around. This was kind of amusing.
As usual, the sheer quantity of food available over the course of the day was slightly boggling (and slightly dangerous ;). Many of the unopened/uneaten snacks made its way to
It was kinda hot and muggy during the afternoon, but not in the "ahghad gonna melt" range, especially with the shade of the trees. It thundered in the distance for the last hour or two of the afternoon, then broke into some much-needed rain by evening.
And
(no subject)
Date: 2007-09-09 04:45 pm (UTC)We then went to the Stop-n-Drop for 'chips, dips, chains, whips' . again, over doing it, especially since Zoner hadn't had supper yet. We fit all the beers into the fridge, but there's not much room for anything else.
At both places, as we were checking out, the clerk asked "So, where's the party?" and we explained that it was a traditional gathering at the end of summer we had with our friends from college and such. 15 years and running. thinking of it like that, I thought "yah.. we got a very cool thing going here..."
my cousin
my sister and her family came along again, and had a wonderful time.
Sakura Tokyo went pretty well. one grill's worth of Teppanyaki, and 2 grills worth of sushi-eaters. they didn't give us grief over having a mismatch. one half of the sushi got their orders pretty quickly.. they had an experienced waitress who might've fast-tracked their orders.. my half of the sushi folks got a newer waitress, who first thought we wanted Teppanyaki, and then was slow getting us a la carte
sheets to order. by the time the grill table had finished cooking, and the other table was finishing up eating.. we were still waiting for food. and Fugakyu has spoiled us for sushis, but Sakura is closer to the park, and has the space for Big Parties. (altho.. with enough notice, I'm sure we could reserve Fugakyu's whole back room....)
hanging out after dinner was fun, as usual. chatting and drinking. we had a lot of beers to get through aaaaaand... didn't even make a dent.
we'll be well supplied for ninja-night for a while :)
(no subject)
Date: 2007-09-09 11:32 pm (UTC)Kate probably didn't even realize it was a Purgatory weekend. She has typical teen stuff going on. I'll mention it to her when I see her between her playing and my playing (as they're no longer, of course, the same.) :(
I'm glad y'all had fun, and may your samosa burps make you think fondly of those who weren't there. :)
(no subject)
Date: 2007-09-10 12:57 am (UTC)(no subject)
Date: 2007-09-11 05:15 pm (UTC)(no subject)
Date: 2007-09-11 08:58 pm (UTC)