"It's highly unlikely the show is coming back, but no definitive final answer has been made on that," Liguori told a gathering of TV critics in Pasadena. "It's regrettable we couldn't find an audience that the show deserves."
So, yes, it's as obvious as ever that it's not going to have a fourth season on Fox, but they're still not out and out saying that it's cancelled.
What is kind of interesting is that the network is being so amiable-- not a shock, I guess, since they stuck with the show for three years-- and supportive of it being picked up by another network. I think the whole series taking a year off to really plan out a triumphant and hysterical return on another network would be terrific. For the most part [I did love the final Rita episode and "S.O.B.s"], I think the show's been fairly stagnant and way below its average level of comedy this season, which I'm sure has a lot to do with the impending cancellation. As opposed to, say, the American version of the Office, which has been steadily climbing in ratings and made the leap from "very good show" to "modern fucking classic" somewhere around 2x07.
the third season was really good at the beginning, and has really picked up at the end, but there was an episode or two in the middle that were just... not as bam in your face i'm going to make you laugh whether you fucking like it or not as the show's been overall.
according to the fox website, in any case, the show's not "cancelled." they have a list of "cancelled" shows. AD isn't on it. AD is on the "backup" shows list... which the site explains are the shows that get played this season if fox axes something else. here's the direct text:
2. What are some other Mid-Season backup shows not yet scheduled for the 2005/06 Season? ANSWER: BACKUP SHOWS (to air sometime in later this season - sometime in 2006):
o THE LOOP [NEW COMEDY] o FREE RIDE [NEW COMEDY] o NANNY 911 [2ND SEASON] o HELL'S KITCHEN [2ND SEASON] o SO YOU THINK YOU CAN DANCE [2ND SEASON] o ARRESTED DEVELOPMENT [Remainder of 3RD SEASON]
supposedly, the rest of season 3 will be aired during the olympics! i hope so. i fucking hate the olympics.
The reason it "never found an audience" was because the people that enjoyed that kind of humor have lives and senses of humor and don't have time to waste watching TV all the damn time with a Nielson box on their TV.
With everyone having DVD and Tivo, only mouth-breathers actually make up the ratings these days. Why else would you have such a "hit" with American Idol and "That 70's Show" (which is finally being cancelled, thank dog).
Don't even get me started on them cancelling "Dead Like Me" on Showtime, either. *sigh* (just finished watching the last DVD tonight. *sigh*
I finally just read this. I mean, we saw it coming bla bla bla. It sucks bla bla bla. I've complained enough on the subject.
BUT TWO HOURS OF ARRESTED DEVELOPMENT (during the I-could-care-less Olympic Opening Ceremonies) is like, the greatest news I've heard about the show in a long, long time. This is actually a good move on Fox's part:
Air the remaining shows so fans are happy. Diehard AD fans (which, really, are most AD fans) will watch the show no matter what is on any other channel. FOX can't use any of it's high rating programming to try to compete with the olympics because it won't hold up.
I'm happy because I get to see the shows, Fox is happy because their ratings will be slightly higher than if they aired four Simpsons reruns during the same timeslot.
(no subject)
Date: 2006-01-20 04:33 pm (UTC)"It's highly unlikely the show is coming back, but no definitive final answer has been made on that," Liguori told a gathering of TV critics in Pasadena. "It's regrettable we couldn't find an audience that the show deserves."
So, yes, it's as obvious as ever that it's not going to have a fourth season on Fox, but they're still not out and out saying that it's cancelled.
What is kind of interesting is that the network is being so amiable-- not a shock, I guess, since they stuck with the show for three years-- and supportive of it being picked up by another network. I think the whole series taking a year off to really plan out a triumphant and hysterical return on another network would be terrific. For the most part [I did love the final Rita episode and "S.O.B.s"], I think the show's been fairly stagnant and way below its average level of comedy this season, which I'm sure has a lot to do with the impending cancellation. As opposed to, say, the American version of the Office, which has been steadily climbing in ratings and made the leap from "very good show" to "modern fucking classic" somewhere around 2x07.
(no subject)
Date: 2006-01-20 05:10 pm (UTC)according to the fox website, in any case, the show's not "cancelled." they have a list of "cancelled" shows. AD isn't on it. AD is on the "backup" shows list... which the site explains are the shows that get played this season if fox axes something else. here's the direct text:
2. What are some other Mid-Season backup shows not yet scheduled for the 2005/06 Season?
ANSWER:
BACKUP SHOWS (to air sometime in later this season - sometime in 2006):
o THE LOOP [NEW COMEDY]
o FREE RIDE [NEW COMEDY]
o NANNY 911 [2ND SEASON]
o HELL'S KITCHEN [2ND SEASON]
o SO YOU THINK YOU CAN DANCE [2ND SEASON]
o ARRESTED DEVELOPMENT [Remainder of 3RD SEASON]
supposedly, the rest of season 3 will be aired during the olympics! i hope so. i fucking hate the olympics.
(no subject)
Date: 2006-01-20 10:02 pm (UTC)(no subject)
Date: 2006-01-21 02:54 am (UTC)With everyone having DVD and Tivo, only mouth-breathers actually make up the ratings these days. Why else would you have such a "hit" with American Idol and "That 70's Show" (which is finally being cancelled, thank dog).
Don't even get me started on them cancelling "Dead Like Me" on Showtime, either. *sigh* (just finished watching the last DVD tonight. *sigh*
(no subject)
Date: 2006-01-21 08:54 am (UTC)(no subject)
Date: 2006-01-23 06:39 pm (UTC)BUT TWO HOURS OF ARRESTED DEVELOPMENT (during the I-could-care-less Olympic Opening Ceremonies) is like, the greatest news I've heard about the show in a long, long time. This is actually a good move on Fox's part:
Air the remaining shows so fans are happy.
Diehard AD fans (which, really, are most AD fans) will watch the show no matter what is on any other channel.
FOX can't use any of it's high rating programming to try to compete with the olympics because it won't hold up.
I'm happy because I get to see the shows, Fox is happy because their ratings will be slightly higher than if they aired four Simpsons reruns during the same timeslot.