Holy mother of dog, that's $$$$ right there. In pounds, no less? YOW!
That's probably about what I spent on the final scratch and the mixer, so what am I talkin' bout? ENJOY the birthday present you obviously wanted...it's gorgeous.
Alas, it is unlikely. I suspect I will continue to eye fancy watches from afar for a good long time. I have to say, though, that switching to Ableton Live and using almost entirely software synths and effects has REALLY cut down on my ricidulous music-gear buying. I still wouldn't mind a Korg MS2000 or a Mono/Poly to play with, but for most of my noodling needs I can do quite well with free plugins. And if I'm not constantly buying synthesizers, playing with them until I decide whether they're keepers or not, and reselling them, I suddenly have more funds available.
My Christmas present to myself was a Swatch Irony Diaphane "Oscillation"-- This, more or less, but less expensive than that thanks to somebody mislabelling it on eBay. It's pretty. And mechanical. 8) (Not nearly as nice as the JlC Master Calendar gonecaving mentions in another comment, but, you know, affordable.)
Okay, 1. that watch is freakin' gorgeous(I love seeing the gears turn).
2. Hardware synths are fun to play with, especially when someone else has already bought them (my studio partner, Ian).
3. I'm loving FS, but I'm knee-deep in the converting stuff over on the vinyl side. OTOH, the scratch amp makes a gorgeous sound card, doing awesome a/d conversion and the phono amps are excellent. They sound GREAT.
:) Ableton is the project I tackle after I get most of the stuff in FS. I'm taking computer music class this semester (which if I remember right covers midi in part) so I'm really looking forward to that - class starts next week!
Cool watches. Expensive habit. I have a crappy timex indiglo I keep buying watchbands for (I'm tough on my watches, I admit it). :)
1. Yeah, I like it. It's the cheapest skeleton watch you can find, really, without getting into really scary Chinese thingies (you can now get cheap Chinese movements with tourbillons, which is boggling Super Watch People-- they've been the sole property of haute horologie for so long, and they like to get really snarky about how it's "The most elegant and complex of complications," so having 10-dollar tourbillon movements coming out of Chinese factories by the thousands is shaking their little worlds). Swatch make decent watches, if you can get past how ridiculously popular they are (or were). Plus Swatch owns Rolex, so if people get too snarky about it, you can undercut them with that...
2. Yes indeed. And I will probably do hardware again sometime, but boy, it's nice to be able to have the whole setup saved at once, and to be able to work on older songs without having to figure out what kind of weird repatching I'd done for what effect and so on...
3. Cool. 8)
Post about your computer music class. I'm interested in seeing what it covers and how it goes. 8)
...and before cool watches, I had a very old Seiko digital watch that my mother found in the street, saw was still running, and gave to me. I've been hauling it around for years. Occasionally it stops (yeah... a digital watch, stopping. the numbers are there, they just don't change any more) and starts again months later. The buttons are grungy and stuck, and part of the band is held together with pins. Plus, it's asymmetrical and clunky and the paint has worn off on the corners, giving the impression of well-used military hardware. I think the last time I looked at it, it had started again...
Cool. Presume you've seen the watch of 2005 voting on timezone.com? Amazing technology meets cool design (presumably matched with astronomical prices :-)).
Your post about the JlC Gyrotoubillon was partly instrumental in me spending rather more than I suspect was sensible on my half of the engaugement pressies. She got a ring. I got a watch (which I paid most of the cost of).
I've been considering the voting and thinking about signing up, knowing full well that if I do, it's only the beginning of a long and slippery slope... (Not that I don't already have one foot hanging over the edge, but still.)
I've not even thought about voting, though I think I'd be torn between the OpusV and the Tour De l'Ille.
I got a JlC Master Calendar in SS. I'd have really liked a perpetual calendar but my madness currently only stretches so far ;-) You'll find pics on JlC's site (which has recently been updated).
My girlfriend got me one of these for xmas. Not nearly as fancy, but it hits my main wants in a watch, namely: automatic true 24-hour dial luminous hands
So far it keeps good time, and I'm enjoying it. There's just something about mechanical watches. It's way more enjoyable than my beat up old Timex Ironman Triathlon, which I haven't worn since I broke the 3rd or so band on it a year or 3 ago. Very few people wear watches anymore, and I think that's a shame. If there's ever a major EMP event, I'll still know what time it is :)
Neat. I've read interesting things about Poljot and Vostok watches-- mostly "Hey, these aren't too bad, considering they're super-cheap and made in Russia."
And yeah, I agree-- I really enjoy the idea of how much engineering and effort has gone into the little wheels and gears and springs that make up even simple mechanical watches.
(no subject)
Date: 2006-01-04 03:57 pm (UTC)(no subject)
Date: 2006-01-04 05:21 pm (UTC)That's probably about what I spent on the final scratch and the mixer, so what am I talkin' bout? ENJOY the birthday present you obviously wanted...it's gorgeous.
(no subject)
Date: 2006-01-04 05:53 pm (UTC)(no subject)
Date: 2006-01-04 09:47 pm (UTC)(my birthday was Dec 19th, forgive me for the miscommunication) :)
(no subject)
Date: 2006-01-05 04:27 pm (UTC)My Christmas present to myself was a Swatch Irony Diaphane "Oscillation"-- This, more or less, but less expensive than that thanks to somebody mislabelling it on eBay. It's pretty. And mechanical. 8) (Not nearly as nice as the JlC Master Calendar
How are you liking your own new toys?
(no subject)
Date: 2006-01-05 06:17 pm (UTC)1. that watch is freakin' gorgeous(I love seeing the gears turn).
2. Hardware synths are fun to play with, especially when someone else has already bought them (my studio partner, Ian).
3. I'm loving FS, but I'm knee-deep in the converting stuff over on the vinyl side. OTOH, the scratch amp makes a gorgeous sound card, doing awesome a/d conversion and the phono amps are excellent. They sound GREAT.
:) Ableton is the project I tackle after I get most of the stuff in FS. I'm taking computer music class this semester (which if I remember right covers midi in part) so I'm really looking forward to that - class starts next week!
Cool watches. Expensive habit. I have a crappy timex indiglo I keep buying watchbands for (I'm tough on my watches, I admit it). :)
(no subject)
Date: 2006-01-05 08:11 pm (UTC)2. Yes indeed. And I will probably do hardware again sometime, but boy, it's nice to be able to have the whole setup saved at once, and to be able to work on older songs without having to figure out what kind of weird repatching I'd done for what effect and so on...
3. Cool. 8)
Post about your computer music class. I'm interested in seeing what it covers and how it goes. 8)
...and before cool watches, I had a very old Seiko digital watch that my mother found in the street, saw was still running, and gave to me. I've been hauling it around for years. Occasionally it stops (yeah... a digital watch, stopping. the numbers are there, they just don't change any more) and starts again months later. The buttons are grungy and stuck, and part of the band is held together with pins. Plus, it's asymmetrical and clunky and the paint has worn off on the corners, giving the impression of well-used military hardware. I think the last time I looked at it, it had started again...
(no subject)
Date: 2006-01-05 08:45 pm (UTC)As for my watch, it's not *that* bad. ;)
(no subject)
Date: 2006-01-05 11:04 am (UTC)Your post about the JlC Gyrotoubillon was partly instrumental in me spending rather more than I suspect was sensible on my half of the engaugement pressies. She got a ring. I got a watch (which I paid most of the cost of).
(no subject)
Date: 2006-01-05 02:12 pm (UTC)What watch did you get? Are there pictures? 8)
(no subject)
Date: 2006-01-05 02:26 pm (UTC)I got a JlC Master Calendar in SS. I'd have really liked a perpetual calendar but my madness currently only stretches so far ;-) You'll find pics on JlC's site (which has recently been updated).
(no subject)
Date: 2006-01-05 03:10 pm (UTC)Oh, that is pretty, yes. I totally approve, as if that makes any difference. 8)
(no subject)
Date: 2006-01-05 08:02 pm (UTC)automatic
true 24-hour dial
luminous hands
So far it keeps good time, and I'm enjoying it. There's just something about mechanical watches. It's way more enjoyable than my beat up old Timex Ironman Triathlon, which I haven't worn since I broke the 3rd or so band on it a year or 3 ago. Very few people wear watches anymore, and I think that's a shame. If there's ever a major EMP event, I'll still know what time it is :)
(no subject)
Date: 2006-01-05 08:04 pm (UTC)Neat. I've read interesting things about Poljot and Vostok watches-- mostly "Hey, these aren't too bad, considering they're super-cheap and made in Russia."
And yeah, I agree-- I really enjoy the idea of how much engineering and effort has gone into the little wheels and gears and springs that make up even simple mechanical watches.